Savory Links

Since I posted some sweet treats I’ve been wanting to make, I thought I would add some savory ones as well… I have a huge sweet tooth (or 26 of them, rather), and once I start, I have absolutely NO self control. But, when I have a super-di-duper delicious savory meal, I don’t feel the need for a giant brownie with ice cream after. So here’s to more savory deliciousness!

  1. I am interested in this Maria Mind Body Health website (specifically in reference to my stepmom, who has had several health and digestive issues for a long time). It seems that Maria’s ketogenic diet is especially well-suited for those with digestive issues and allergies… I would be very interested to see how she would react to this diet, especially she’s she is on a very restrictive one right now. I made these meatballs last night and served them with marinara and spaghetti squash. Delicious, and filling!
  2. Spinach, Mushroom and Feta Quiche by Budget Bytes – This is a crustless quiche, automatically making things a) easier and b) not as caloric. And gluten-free for those allergic to gluten. I am not one to run away from fat, so the cheese doesn’t scare me here. But if you wanted to reduce the cheese, I’d recommend reducing the mozzarella instead of the parmesan in order to keep a lot of the strong flavor. I’d probably also add a little more seasoning, like paprika, or parsley on top or something. So easy and great – I’m thinking a brunch party…..
  3. Thyme-Roasted Carrots by Once Upon a Chef is how I usually prepare my carrots for a dinner side. IT IS LIKE CANDY. So flavorful, so sweet, and incredibly easy. This recipe is forgiving – if you have the oven on 400 degrees, it will still work. If you don’t have thyme on hand, use Herbs de Provence or rosemary. I eat like 17 servings when I make this, so go ahead and make a big batch. Note: If you want it to look pretty, use whole carrots, and scrub them clean or peel them. If you want the quick-and-dirty version, use the baby carrots that come in a bag. You don’t need foil either way because it’s dressed in oil.

Until next time,
Estes

Leave a Reply

