De-routining and Workout Summary

We had friends in town this weekend, and it threw my gym schedule a little askew. I am admittedly bad at that going off-schedule, out of my routine thing. It goes one of two ways: a) my being very neurotic and forcing my schedule on other people who have no interest in going to the gym on a beautiful afternoon during their vacation, or have no interest in taking me to the gym on what is supposed to be my vacation or b) abandoning my schedule throws me into a binge of all things in which I don’t usually indulge… bring on the football (or Gilmore Girls…), beer, cookies and couch-potatoing.

Gratefully, this weekend resulted in neither of those options. We ate a lot, drank a lot, and watched some football, but we also hiked and played Cards Against Humanity and made lunch for ourselves and didn’t spend too much money. All in all, a resounding success.

And then, they left. And back to weekdays. Back to normal.

I have several things I need to improve about myself – most of us do – but those things often get pushed to the backburner. We have work to do, dinner to make, a job application to finish, and, damn it, fun to have!

Normal gets in the way, because we know what happens in normal. We operate on auto-pilot in “normal,” and the introspection required to change something about oneself is left behind. In my case, that usually means actual things left behind.

I am a chronic forgetter/not-finisher. Whether it’s ADD, as I was diagnosed as a child, or carelessness or what doesn’t really matter. What matters is that clothes are left on the ground every day, a coffee mug is left in the back office for someone else to clean up, and that promise I made gets broken simply because I didn’t take the time. It also means the bathtub gets scrubbed, but ten dishes are left unwashed in the sink. Or chicken is made for lunches throughout the week, but the chicken package with the leftover bits that stink to high heaven in a matter of hours? Thrown in the almost-empty trashcan. In my mind, I was going to throw out the trash (not full) with the chicken that night. Wasteful, count one, and probably not gonna happen, count two.

Why is it so much easier to be accountable to oneself in writing? I can come clean on paper (internet paper, as it were), but not in real words coming out of my mouth to the people I love when they need to hear it. I call that not finishing, too.

But fortunately, I also remember things better when they are put in writing.

I will probably always be forgetful. But that doesn’t mean that I can’t do better, and it certainly doesn’t mean that I can excuse myself when the responsibility lies with me. So with this, writing it down, putting it in black and white, I commit to not letting normal get in the way of improvement.

Monday:
3x10x10lbs Box Jumps
5x6x125lbs Back Squat
5x6x95lbs Slow Back Squat
5x6x30lbs Jump Squat
8,7,6,6x50lbs Barbell Hip Thrust

Tuesday:

Complex 1:

  • 14, 14,13x90lbs Lying Leg Curl
    10, 10, 10×37.5lbs Leg Extensions
    15, 15, 15Walking Lunges

5 rounds of:

  • 1 min. bike sprint
  • 30 bodyweight squat
  • 10 vertical jumps

Wednesday:
3x10x10lbs Medicine Ball Throw
5x6x65lb Push Press
5x6x45lb Slow Push Press
5x5x10 Overhead Medicine Ball Throw
8,7,7,6x Bent-Over Barbell Row
8,8,7,6x50lbs Lat Pulldown

Thursday:
Complex 1:

  • 15,14,12×10 Dumbbell Lateral Raise
  • 15,14,13×10 Lying Tricep Extension
  • 12,12,13×10 Dumbbell Shoulder press

Complex 2:

  • 15,15,13×40 Back Lat Pulldown
  • 15,14,13 Front Lat Pulldown
  • 15,13,12 Supinated Lat Pulldown

Sunday (did Saturday’s workout):
10x3x37kg Cleans from the hang
4 sets of:

  • 5×17.5lb Dumbbell Lateral Raise
  • 10 Box Jumps
  • 10x10lb Overhead Medicine Ball Throw
  • 10 Broad Jumps
  • 10x10lb Medicine Ball Slam

in 12 minutes, 3 complete sets of:

  • 1 min. bike sprint
  • 250m row
  • 10 pushups
Leave a Reply

