Click-worthy Links

This ten-week program is an exercise not only in physical work, but in discipline and, hopefully, self-improvement. Since graduating from UNC-Chapel Hill, I have taken a long break from the news cycle. I got my fill as a journalism major and while studying abroad in Uganda and Rwanda; I got my fill of political deadlock, international catastrophes, domestic and foreign poverty, malnutrition and obesity. It made me cynical and negative, and who wants that? I personally like to smile!

So I took a long break. Sure, I read/watched some of the big stories, but not at all frequently (this is all relatively speaking.. I used to follow at least a dozen wonkish blogs about international development, humanitarian aid, and global politics). To be perfectly honest, I enjoy my relative ignorance, especially in this blissful little bubble we call Aspen. But I do think I need to be minimally informed, and so I’ll add that to the self-improvement To-Do list.

With that said, I’ll try to post three links about twice a week – about things varying from local to national to global, health-related or completely and totally not.

1) A Call for a Low-Carb Diet that Embraces Fat (so much for my french toast dinner…)

2) Who Rescued Whom? Shelter Dogs and Prison Inmates Give Each Other a New ‘Leash’ on Life

3) 20-Minute Thai Basil Beef Rice Bowls because YUM and FAST and COCONUT and would probably be perfect serving two in my household (with maybe some extra rice for the Frankster)

Leave a Reply

